Coho Salmon

Image courtesy of the National Oceanographic
and Atmospheric Administration

Stretching from the Cascades to the Pacific Ocean, the 2.7-million acre Umpqua Basin has roughly the same boundary as Douglas County, Oregon. There are 12 incorporated cities within the Umpqua Basin: Canyonville, Drain, Elkton, Glendale, Myrtle Creek, Oakland, Reedsport, Riddle, Roseburg, Sutherlin, Winston, and Yoncalla. The population of Douglas County is just over 100,000, nearly one-third of which is in the Roseburg and Winston regions.

Over half of the Umpqua Basin is managed by the federal government. The Umpqua National Forest encompasses nearly one million acres, mostly in the eastern portion of the Basin. The Bureau of Land Management administers lands throughout the higher elevations of the central and western portions of the Basin. These federal lands, as well as the county's 50 parks, provide abundant recreational opportunities such as waterfall hikes, fishing, hunting, and rafting. It's no wonder that people continue choosing the Umpqua Basin as their home.